To what extend is pain important?

Discussion in 'Human Science' started by Xeeg, May 21, 2006.

?

To what extent should "pain" be a factor when improving the state of humanity?

1. Pain doesn't matter at all.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Pain should be avoided when possible.

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  3. Pain should be allowed only when humanity is threatened.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Pain should be avoided at all costs.

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. Xeeg Registered Member

As an engineering student I have a habit of looking at human problems and trying to understanding them on a more fundamental level. I used to be quite a pacifist and, at some points in my life, struggled with the ideas of vegetarianism and so on. I guess i never really wanted to cause things pain.

However recently i've been thinking alot about what pain is, at least on the physical sense. Ok so take your hand and touch a really hot burner. Yeah that hurts, the heat transfer rate between your hand and the burner causes the molecules in your hand to get very very excited, and some chemical process start to occur as well. Great. Well that doesn't sound so evil does it? In fact, its party time at the hand!
    Things hurt as a part of our evolution, it comes from when our bodies change too fast and nerves get stressed. Now think of the pain when doing pushups, or stretching your legs. Its virtually the same thing, stressing the nerves, but we associate this with "good pain". In fact, most of the things that i value from in my own life have caused me some kind of pain or stress to obtain. I know it hurts, but im thinking of my personal benefits.

I guess my question goes out to society. Nowadays, there is a wideheld belief in popular society that causing pain on things is to be discouraged by every means possible. We call this "acting humanely", although humans are capable of everything we have done historically, and alot of it caused pain.