The Gravity Model vs. Big Bang Theory

Discussion in 'Astronomy, Exobiology, & Cosmology' started by W.Davidson, May 20, 2006.

1. W.Davidson Registered Member

I'm a layman with a wide interest in science subjects. Some years ago I came up with a theory which I believe explains the cosmological redshift and other observations about the universe much better than Big Bang theory. I'd like to post it as a topic on this forum just to see what kind of reaction it gets. As it's rather long, I'll do it in two parts. This first post contains the main points. Okay? Here goes.

In order to explain the acceleration of galaxies, scientists have invoked the existence of a mysterious 'dark energy'. This is because their thinking is constrained by their belief in an expanding universe caused by the Big Bang. However, an alternative explanation could be that the galaxies are under the influence of the only known force of nature capable of causing such acceleration - gravity. This would require the existence of a super-massive, non-luminous body in space (presumably a black hole) to which all the galaxies in the observable universe werebeing drawn.

If such a body existed, it seems unlikely that it would be the only such body in the universe, just as the Milky Way is not the only galaxy. There might be billions of such supermassive bodies, each drawing billions of galaxies towards them. This would mean that that which we cal the 'observable universe' is merely a finite system of galaxies among many such finite systems in the 'universe at large'.

If such a model could explain other observations such as the fact that the galaxies all seemed to be moving away from each other, then would it not deserve to replace the increasingly baroque and untenable Big Bang theory which requires us to believe so many unorthodox and unproven assumptions about the universe. I believe it should.