The value and distortion of statistics

Discussion in 'General Philosophy' started by Maxi, Jan 2, 2006.

1. Maxi Registered Senior Member

Hi! I'm writing an essay on the following topic: "Statistics can be very helpful in providing a powerful interpretation of reality but also can be used to distort our understanding. Discuss some of the ways in which statistics can be used or misused in different Areas of Knowledge to assist and mislead us, and how we can determine whether to accept the statistical evidence that is presented to us."

Firstly I guess I have to explain a bit the format of how I have to write it. I am a student of the IB (maybe some of you are familiar with it) and it's this essay is on the Theory of Knowledge subject. Basically I have write my ideas and examples with regard to "the ways of knowing" which are: reason, language, perception and emotion; also "areas of knowledge" which are: arts, maths, history, sciences (both natural and social). I might have missed one or so but you get the point.

Maxime Maison, IB ToK

“Statistics can be very helpful in providing a powerful interpretation of reality but also can be used to distort our understanding. Discuss some of the ways in which statistics can be used or misused in different Areas of Knowledge to assist and mislead us, and how we can determine whether to accept the statistical evidence that is presented to us.”