a simple question on atoms

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by ash64449, Apr 14, 2013.

1. ash64449 Registered Senior Member

question:
    i heard that according to maxwell's equations(i think),electrons that are orbiting the nucleus should lose energy and eventually fall into the nucleus. So atoms cannot exist.so how is this problem overcome? If this conclusion is according to maxwell's equation,can you tell me how it predicts the above statement i said?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. eram Sciengineer Valued Senior Member

Using Schrodinger's equation, electrons are modelled as orbitals or probability "clouds", avoiding the Maxwellian problem.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. ash64449 Registered Senior Member

please eram,can you tell me in detail. You know my age and i am new to these.so can you try to simplify what you said here?

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. ash64449 Registered Senior Member

i don't know much about schrodinger equation...
    Well,in your response you talked about probabilities.so i think schrodinger equation must have given probabilities of finding a electron at that point. So when we find out the probabilities,it must have given a probability cloud or orbitals.right?

8. eram Sciengineer Valued Senior Member

Wait... do you want more detail or do you want simplification?

9. eram Sciengineer Valued Senior Member

something like that..

[video=youtube;8njOejPIj4w]http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=SG&hl=en-GB&v=8njOejPIj4w[/video]

10. ash64449 Registered Senior Member

hehe... Simplification is enough.. Upto my level...

11. ash64449 Registered Senior Member

so i think by giving the probability cloud,we can say that electrons are only found at that cloud and no where else.is that the way maxwellian problem is solved?

12. ash64449 Registered Senior Member

i cannot see your video quote in mobile....