question on electric traction system (based on power electronic)

Discussion in 'General Science & Technology' started by audric, Jan 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. audric Registered Member

Hello everyone,
    I'm a student in electromechanical engineering and i received a difficult question for my exam and i need to answer it. But i don't know how to start and which steps follow to answer. So i decided to ask your help. I know the question is long so i will understand if anyone doesn't want to answer. But all idea or solutions will be appreciated and thanked.
    Here is the question and the given data's:

Hello everyone,
    I'm a student in electromechanical engineering and i received a difficult question for my exam and i need to answer it. But i don't know how to start and which steps follow to answer. So i decided to ask your help. I know the question is long so i will understand if anyone doesn't want to answer. But all idea or solutions will be appreciated and thanked.
    Here is the question and the given data's:
    In electric traction systems with power electronic converters measures are needed to avoid DC link voltage instability, associated with large supply line current fluctuations. This can be analysed on lab scale with the model described below.
    The DC power supply, including overhead line, is simulated by means of a transformer fed diode rectifier and a 10 mH reactance. The traction system itself is modelled by a DC-link capacitor (15000 μF), a power transistor and a freewheeling diode connected to compose a chopper. The traction system input reactance is simulated as part of the previously mentioned 10 mH reactance. The traction motor is simulated by means of a DC motor with series connected field windings, loaded with a DC generator.