Fundaments of science test.

Discussion in 'Free Thoughts' started by Scaramouche, Jan 8, 2010.

1. Scaramouche Registered Member

I'm putting this in the Free Thoughts section because it is, after all, rather trivial.

I'm just curious about something. It has been apparent to me for a long time that many people don't really understand some of the very basic concepts which support our understanding of the universe. For that reason, I'm going to ask a few very basic questions here and see what happens.

1. What is a dimension?

2. What is a unit of measurement?

3. What is a model (in terms of science and particularly physics)?

4. What is a hypothesis?

5. What is a theory?

6. What is a law?

Don't just post a link or paste in something someone else said that you believe covers it. In your own words, answer those questions.

2. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. alephnull you can count on me Registered Senior Member

Good idea.

As a mathematician, I will answer questions 1 and 5 from a mathematical point of view.

1. The dimension (of a vector space) is the number of vectors in it's basis

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

5. In a logical language \( \mathbb{L}_0 \) given the following axioms and rule:

A1 : \( (\alpha \rightarrow (\beta \rightarrow \alpha)) \)
    A2 : \( (((\alpha \rightarrow (\beta \rightarrow \gamma)) \rightarrow ((\alpha \rightarrow \beta) \rightarrow(\alpha \rightarrow \gamma))) \)
    A3 : \( ((\neg \beta \rightarrow \neg \alpha) \rightarrow (\alpha \rightarrow \beta)) \)

\( \alpha , \beta , \gamma \in Form(\mathbb{L}_0) \)

Rule: Modus Ponens: From \( \alpha \) and \( (\alpha \rightarrow \beta) \) infer \( \beta \) . \( \forall \alpha , \beta \in Form(\mathbb{L}_0) \),