Loss of common sense, or lack of education?

Discussion in 'Free Thoughts' started by Omega133, Dec 20, 2009.

?

What do you think is the problem?

1. Education

2 vote(s)
    40.0%
  2. Loss of common sense

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  3. People are not paying attention in school

2 vote(s)
    40.0%
  4. Nothing's wrong with people

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Omega133 Aus der Dunkelheit Valued Senior Member

I'm a freshman in high school, and one of my favorite classes is world cultural geography. My teacher told us a story; a senior in a different school died while playing baseball. He was playing pitcher threw the ball and the batter hit it straight back at the seniors head. The kid died from the impact. So what the brilliant parents did is they sued the company of the bat! For not putting a warning that objects hit with bat move fast.

During Jay Leno's Jay Walking he asked a woman "How many stars are on that flag"(pointing at the American flag). The woman replied "I don't know it's moving too fast to count."

A repair company put a sign on their door claiming WE CAN FIX ANYTHING. Next to it was a doorbell. Hanging from the doorbell was a sign that say's PLEASE KNOCK HARD THE DOORBELL DOESN'T WORK.

I dressed as a WW1 era U.S infantry soldier this past Halloween. It looked very authentic. One man asked "What are you supposed to be?" Two women sitting near the door were handing out candy. One said to me "Nice Civil War costume."

Are we loosing our common sense, is education not doing it's job, or are we not paying attention? Please vote and say why in a reply.

2. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Dywyddyr Penguinaciously duckalicious. Valued Senior Member

It's probably a combination of a number of factors, although as is often said, common sense isn't all that common (otherwise it wouldn't be so fĂȘted when it does rear its head).