Amateur Robot Building (help with PICs)

Discussion in 'Intelligence & Machines' started by BloodSuckingGerbile, Jun 22, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BloodSuckingGerbile Master of Puppets Registered Senior Member

If anybody here builds robots (amateur or pro), I have a question for you.
    Which PIC are you working with?
    Which one do you recommend?
    I'm new in this hobby so I'll need someone to direct me.
    I've allready looked for PICs on the web and I've found two well documented PICs (OOPIC and the Basic Stamp series) but there are a few problems: OOPIC is perfect but it's not distributed internationally (only in the US and UK and some other countries). I live in Israel and there is no OOPIC ditributor here.
    The basic stamp, although it has a distributor in Israel, the facts that it doesn't support multitasking, that it has a limited code storage space and that its' programming language is not object-oriented suck...
    Well, I just want to look for more.
    Please help me. I need your help!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. BloodSuckingGerbile Master of Puppets Registered Senior Member

PIC = Programmable Integrated Circuit (a programmable computer chip)

OOPIC = Object Oriented Programmable Integrated Circuit.

Please... somebody... answer...

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. esp Registered Senior Member

Depending on the size of robot you want to construct and the payloads it will need to manipulate, I would personally drop PIC chips like hot potatoes.

Most heavy industrial robotics (the industry I work in) use PLC's.
    The thing with a Programmable Logic Controller is that firstly you need to be able to guarantee a reasonably stable power supply and secondly the space and weight of a fully functional PLC is usually much more than a PIC and it's driver assembly.