Ports / Proxies / UDP / TCP / Ventrilo

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by Waddleh, Jul 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Waddleh Registered Member

Okay Gentleman, short and sweet wins the day.

My issue, I lack any sort of basic knowledge with tunnels, proxies and port forwarding. :bawl: Laugh away now.

I work nightshifts and connect to the work network via my laptop running Vista Home Premium (not the best OS i know)
    I use a program called Your Freedom to open port 1080 so I can play World of Warcraft a MMORPG via Socks v2.
    I'd like to get Ventrilo 3.0 working but I am always stuck on the MSG: Contacting Server after i click connect (regardless of if its socksified or not), apparently this is because this version of Vent is reliant on UDP whereas previous versions were only reliant on TCP, If it makes any difference, the works firewall/filter is Websense.
    I have zero knowledge of code like Linux or C++ if that is a potential solution.

I therefore ask for a solution (in layman's terms if possible) of somehow getting Vent to work, something that did look promising was an SIP/RTP Tunnel, (source: d-tunnel website sip_tunnel link) yet to be honest thats a little over my head also. Ive tried Putty and Pingfu but couldnt get either of them to work. (More likely to be my lack of understanding)

Hopefully amongst this collection of brains there is a simple solution.
    Thankyou

Matt

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Idle Mind What the hell, man? Valued Senior Member

You can't use the "Your Freedom" program to open the port that your Ventrilo server is using?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Waddleh Registered Member

no apparently it doesnt support VOIP software

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Stryder Keeper of "good" ideas. Valued Senior Member