Higgs Boson?

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by Neutrino_Albatross, Apr 25, 2002.

1. Neutrino_Albatross Legion of Dynamic Discord Registered Senior Member

Alright, I read a book on particle physics and it says that mass is created by interaction between Higgs Bosons and other particles. However the Higgs has mass itself. To me that means that means it would require another Higgs to give it mass which wold require another one to give it mass on to infinity. That can't be true because the universe dosen't have infinite mass. The Higgs has never been detected but most unification theories require that it does. Can the higgs create its own mass? If anyone has any ideas please help the book wasnt clear enough on this point and im going insane.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. rde Eukaryotic specimen Registered Senior Member

As I understand it (and I'm not an expert), particles don't have mass per se; they have mass conferred on them by interacting with the Higgs. So the Higgs boson has mass of its own; other particles don't, except through interaction with the Higgs.
    Does that make sense?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. (Q) Encephaloid Martini Valued Senior Member

Particles get their masses from interacting with the Higgs field which is an undetectable field that fills the universe. The Higgs boson is the particle that 'clings' to objects as they move through the Higgs field which causes a 'drag' that shows up as mass. The Higgs boson acquires its mass (or inertial or resistance to change in motion) from 'borrowed' energy. This energy is 'paid back' almost immediately.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Xev Registered Senior Member

What Q said.

Seems they are having a bit of trouble finding the Higgs.

And, I cannot attatch my paper on the subject. Damn.

Relevent portion: