Operating Systems Comparisons

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by Adam, Apr 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Adam §Þ@ç€ MØnk€¥ Registered Senior Member

Hello all.

As I've mentioned a few times, I'ma computer engineering student, but I'm still a beginner at it all. I have come to the conclusion that Windows sucks in a way that should bring down stray satellites on their heads. I know there are many websites which show compariosns of OSs, but I was wondering what experiences people here have with them all. So far I have only used Windows OSs and a brief bash (little pun there, bash) at Red Hat 6.1. What can you tell me about Solaris, OSX, and others?

Thanks.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Rick Valued Senior Member

I dont know how to say this,but i am an admirerer of Bill gates.He's been in limelight,earned so many bucks,on the basis of DOS with that stupid PRINT SPOOLER?
    hell,i need to take some lessons from this guy in implementations...

bye!

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. sjmarsha Registered Senior Member

Come on Windows isn't that bad for everyday use...

Personally I would like to combine parts of Solaris and Windows NT to create my 'ideal' OS.

If you don't like windows why don't you go back to DOS? Personally I used to like using DOS, The lack of a decent grammer and spell checker eventually forced me to use Windows more often.

As far as I can tell all versions of Unix (Red Hat Linux, Solaris, WinLinux etc) are all the same. WIth just a few different commands etc.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Adam §Þ@ç€ MØnk€¥ Registered Senior Member