Alternative to the Big Bang

Discussion in 'Astronomy, Exobiology, & Cosmology' started by hrebic, Mar 4, 2007.

1. hrebic Registered Senior Member

I'm a newbie here. And although I have a technical degree in engineering I don't pretend to be an expert at astronomy or cosmology, although I find the subject immensely interesting.

In thinking about the Big Bang theory I came up with an alternative view to the expanding universe model which logically must be consistent with the same empirical phenomena that lead to the Big Bang Theory:

What do we mean when we say that the universe is expanding? I think we are saying that the scale of the universe is increasing over time. Increasing relative to what? Increasing relative to our methods of measuring distances and velocities between objects. In other words, the "yardsticks" which sciences uses for these purposes.

But logically speaking, what if, rather than the scale of the universe expanding, suppose that physical phenomena are shrinking over time. All the methods used to measure distances and velocities are based on matter and energy. If matter and energy are shrinking, then so are the "yardsticks" used to measure the expansion.

Thinking of matter shrinking relative to the scale of the universe over time is consistent with the same empirical phenomena as thinking of the universe as expanding relative to the scale of matter over time. They are logically equivalent to each other.

Yet the alternative perspective that I propose has the advantage of not requiring a sudden topological discontinuity of space-time at the Big Bang.

Thoughts?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Prince_James Plutarch (Mickey's Dog) Registered Senior Member

Why wouldn't space shrink, too?

And wouldn't this necessitate infinite space at one point?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. EndLightEnd This too shall pass. Registered Senior Member