Hacker Intrusion

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by Avatar, Mar 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Avatar smoking revolver Valued Senior Member

I have decided with my friend to test my FTP server security. (it's not running now) my friend is a good hacker and I proposed him to hack my system (without any data destruction) . While I'm quite sure about my security without a running FTP sever, I'm new in networking and may miss smth.
    I have
    Win Me (yeah I know it sucks for its security)
    Serv-U for ftp server soft (v 3.1)
    double firewalls -
    Zone Alarm Pro
    Black Ice Defender.

So can you suggest me some really secure ftp server soft (with no programming, I have not so much time to learn smth complicated) and maybe some firewalls you think are the best. But I'm quite confident with Zone Alarm Pro and Black Ice cools me when I'm suspecting smthing.

So any suggestions for network security (especially ftp) and the best soft for server.
    What ports should I watch more closely, any good sites on ntwork and ftp security.

Thanx in advance!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Pollux V Ra Bless America Registered Senior Member

Although I only know HTML code I heard a week or two ago that Black Ice was totally useless because of an obvious flaw of some sort. Well, good luck anyway [lol]

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Stryder Keeper of "good" ideas. Valued Senior Member

Most FTP hacks are down to mis-configurations of the FTP server software. Notibly, "ANONYMOUS" login.
    The first main thing to do is kill that configuration for anonymous.

The next point is making sure your system isn't going to show any folders below the "Root" you've given it. So lets say you have a safe area at (C: )/safehouse/ftp/~bob
    Let's say bob is suppose to only have access to /ftp/~bob