Ventriloquism and South Park

Discussion in 'Art & Culture' started by Fraggle Rocker, Nov 1, 2006.

1. Fraggle Rocker Staff Member

A friend runs a reporting service and each day (among other things) he sends out a writeup on something that happened on that particular date. October 31, 1912, was the birthday of Dale Evans, wife and costar of Roy Rogers, the Singing Cowboy, so yesterday he sent out a rather lengthy bio of her. Being a musician, I always read the ones about musicians. It talked about her early days on radio and the who's-who of stars she worked with.

One of them was Edgar Bergen. How many of us are left who remember Edgar Bergen and Charlie McCarthy? What shocked me today in 2006 was to realize that 55 years ago in 1951 I, and millions of other people, were entertained by a ventriloquist on the radio! Duh?

When Bergen (father of Candice Bergen) made the transition to television, his dummy Charlie McCarthy never failed to make fun of him for the fact that, since he had practiced his art on the radio, he had never learned to speak without moving his lips!

What a simple time that was. We could not see the actors or the scenery. We were enchanted by mystery shows full of thunderclaps and squeaking doors, western shows full of gunfire and stampedes, soap operas full of sighs and kisses, and most notoriously Amos 'n' Andy, a sitcom about black people played entirely by white actors. And... a ventriloquist. We could picture Edgar Bergen sitting there with his lips not moving while Charlie McCarthy seemed to be alive and talking.

There were many other far more accomplished ventriloquists who put on amazing live performances in theaters and on TV. Some of them could throw their voices while drinking water. Some could make it seem that a person was talking in another part of the room. It was so magnificent. The dummies and other props were really talking. We believed it, at least for a while. That was the magic of entertainment.