Prokofiev

Discussion in 'Art & Culture' started by Jenyar, Aug 7, 2006.

1. Jenyar Solar flair Valued Senior Member

...Maddalena and The Fiery Angel (1919-27) are more densely scored, full of chromatic, blurring, inner parts, often doubled in 3rds and 6ths, against obsessive pedal basses, and of wedge-shaped textures whose angularly-widening melodic shapes wrench themselves against chromatic bass lines. Their often clashing harmonic dissonances are the result of the superimposition of sonorous textural strands - sometimes chordal in themselves - along with measured chromatic glissandos and tremolo effects of all sorts.
    -- The New Grove Russian Masters 2
    I just wanted to share this precious little piece with someone. Who says music isn't a visual medium?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Fraggle Rocker Staff Member

Huh. I'm a musician and when I read that I didn't pick up on the visual metaphors. All those words made sense to me in terms of music. The only term I've never encountered before in a musical context is "wedge-shaped," but a sonic image came into my mind far more quickly than I can interpret the incoherent phrase "wedge-shaped texture" as a visual description.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

I do like Prokofiev.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Jenyar Solar flair Valued Senior Member

Granted, it probably only sounds visual to the untrained ear (

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

) - what I mean is that those are originally visual words, at least. It was the angularly-widening melodic wedge-shaped textures that threw me. The rest makes sense if I concentrate a little (as a non-musician).

I like Prokofiev as well (did you know he influenced Danny Elfman's scores?), but in terms of "sonorous texural strands" I prefer the other Russian masters: Rimsky-Korsakov, Shostakovich, Rachmaninov.

Anyway, thanks for indulging.