How much does Sciforums cost?

Discussion in 'SF Open Government' started by Blue_UK, Apr 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blue_UK Drifting Mind Valued Senior Member

How much does this site cost to maintain?

Who pays this?

2. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. leopold Valued Senior Member

well its quite obvious it costs 1100 dollars a year

4. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. invert_nexus Ze do caixao Valued Senior Member

90 bucks a month.

And who pays?

Us.

6. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Electric_Ashalar I've got my EYE on You. Registered Senior Member

where do I send my check.

8. Communist Hamster Cricetulus griseus leninus Valued Senior Member

9. Blue_UK Drifting Mind Valued Senior Member

Hmm... how much to donate? Baring in mind I'm a student and don't like parting with the good stuff.

If sciforums closes down we'll need a contingency plan. A webpage we can refer to for updates until an alternative site is found. Somewhere to invade.

10. Cottontop3000 Death Beckoned Registered Senior Member

11. Stryder Keeper of "good" ideas. Valued Senior Member

The cost for any forums in general is usually based upon a mixture of software, hardware for capacity and of course Bandwidth, which is usually in a premium.

There are many cheap packages out there to run websites, however there is no way that they can deal with the Capacity or Bandwidth.

You can analyse where the bandwidth goes, for instance every user that posts to a thread loads that thread multiple times to view their post or responses, search engines can search the threads if the forum is configured for searching (necessary for popular forums)

There are a number of websites out there that leech posts from the forums too that increase the hits. It is possible for advertisment to be added, however for the most part people ignore adverts and they don't ever make enough to maintain the forum.