TV on the Internet???

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by Xerxes, Oct 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xerxes asdfghjkl Valued Senior Member

Hi,
    I dont know much about comps but I need some help with something. You see my dad wants to watch TV from Israel. Firstly I have no Idea where to get that and also I hear you need broadband. We dont want internet on cable but we want like a fast modem or something that can support live tv. Is 56k the fastest modem without cable? Sorry for my stupidity but I'm just learning about computers.
    Thanks for any advice.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Porfiry Nomad Registered Senior Member

Yes, 56K is the fastest modem speed -- and it's really insufficient for quality video streaming.

If you're interested in foreign television, it's probably better to go with a cable or satellite company. The internet video market is still very immature due to bandwidth cost/constraints. I know at least a few people who use Starchoice to get Croatian TV. Shaw digital cable is another option, but I don't think their selection is as good.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Xerxes asdfghjkl Valued Senior Member

Thanks for the info, Porfiry. I talked to my mom and she said we might be getting cable internet...oh ya!!! that means I can go on as long as I want and watch some internet tv of my own, although basically all they got is foreign tv and discovery channel crap. What ever happened to blood and violence?

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. robboy Registered Member

about TV on internet

I've thought about this myself. As far as Israeli TV you can get it off a satalite broadcast though I don't know the exact info on that right now. Email me, and I'll email you back later. reply03@yahoo.com