Breaking News: Java Entangles Brain of Brasilian Student

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by TruthSeeker, Oct 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TruthSeeker Fancy Virtual Reality Monkey Valued Senior Member

Altough I got an A+ in my Java class, I just started studying events and they are quite confusing. I think the most confusing thing is that I have to get a variable, and assign different names for it, in different methods. That sucks! It's very confusing. Like for example...

First I have to assign it a name in the class:

"TextField text;"

Then, in the initialize method, I try to create a text box:

"public void init(){
    text= new TextField(" ",15);
    add(text);
    text.addActionListener(this);
    }"

Now, the confusion begins. I have to assign another name for the same damn thing:

"public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent e){
    newtext= text.getText();
    repaint();
    }"

Then, after I add new stuff like scrollbars and so on, it is pretty hard to keep track of which thing goes with which!

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

Aaaaaaaaahhhhhh!

Any insights!?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Athelwulf Rest in peace Kurt... Registered Senior Member

Ditch Java, dude, if it's confusing ya that much!

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Voodoo Child Registered Senior Member

It is not the same damn thing: text.getText() is a method returning a string. text is a textField that has many methods and properties.

There is no real need to assign a new name, unless you want to manipulate the string separately. Then, of course, this makes sense since you have two sets of information.

Ah, the perils of the the java GUI. I recommend gaining a basic understanding of event handling and swing principles and then start using an IDE's drag and drop features. It also helps if you very descriptively name you components.