Why does everything have to gt more complicated when I touch it? HELP!

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by Closet Philosopher, Sep 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Closet Philosopher Off to Laurentian University Registered Senior Member

As some of you may know, I fix computer glitches for a living at the moment. I learned that a probem can never be solved easily. Anyway... I have another problem to present to the Sciforums Tech Crew

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

I have to re-install Windows 98 on computer. Sounds simple, right?

Well, of course something goes wrong when I touch it.

I have to access Drive D: to use the Windows 98 CD. When I prompt D: then it won't work. I also tried every other letter possible (the last tech guy did strange things like that). I KNOW it's Drive D though. Does anyone have any ideas in how I can access Drive D to install WIndows? Every time I try, it says "Invalid drive specification"

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Dreamwalker Whatever Valued Senior Member

Mmh, it might be that your computer does not autimatically initiates the CD drives. In that case you would need a start disk (I mean a diskette, not a CD). If there is still a working Win 98 PC around...well how do you make a start disk again? Long time since I did that.
    I think it goes like this: Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs -> Start Up disk -> Create Disk...

Then you set your BIOS to boot from your disk drive, persumably drive A:
    Your CD drives should then be initiated and you can use the Win98 setup by prompting the CD drive and typing "setup" or "Install" I do not know which.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Repo Man Valued Senior Member

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Closet Philosopher Off to Laurentian University Registered Senior Member

Here is what I did: