Outsourcing, a plus or minus?

Discussion in 'Business & Economics' started by Undecided, May 24, 2004.

?

Is outsourcing a good thing, or a corporate bonanza?

1. Good

60.0%
  2. Bad

40.0%
  1. Undecided Banned Banned

Some excerpts from a article from the CATO institute:

Interesting take on outsourcing, I am a free trader because I believe that the principle of "comparative advantage" does indeed exist. No one state can live in autarky and still have economic growth. If a company is going to make more money in India then they would in the US why shouldn't we allow that happen? The great irony here for the US is that she fought the USSR for this globalized capitalist economy, it has always been the US who has pushed for greater access to markets, yet when it hits home the population doesn't like capitalism anymore? American consumers benefit greatly from outsourcing, your computer is almost certainty made in China, or Taiwan, or has parts originating from there. If you have a toy, it's Chinese, if you have a shirt its made in Central America or Asia (where I object to the working conditions), and you have more disposable income then before. If the US was enact tariffs, and to stop outsourcing firstly there would be shortages of goods, secondly inflation would skyrocket, and American industry would be weaker for it (yes you heard me). This is quite possibly the only line of argumentation in which I agree with the Bush administration, I support its trade policy. I support globalization as well because it is the great equalizer, it does spread the wealth. Granted corporations are raking in the profits, but wages and living standards all over the world have increased, and in some places significantly. Countries like China, Brazil, even India have a greater voice in the economic survival of the world. The Chinese now account for 7.9%(2002) of total world trade and the US 14.5% (2002), consider that China in 1975 didn’t even account for 1%. The US is increasingly dep