Need help with AI problem

Discussion in 'Intelligence & Machines' started by Xaque, Feb 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xaque Registered Member

Here is what I am trying to do. I am writing a program in C++ that mimics the behaviour of a flock of birds by specifying 2 simple rules:
    1. Do not get within 3 spaces of any other birds.
    2. Do not get more than 7 spaces away from any birds.

The problem I am having is that I am somewhat new to C++ and I don't know an easy way for the birds to 'look' around and see what other birds are near them. Any suggestions?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. hlreed Registered Senior Member

You could probably do this better in a spread sheet. It already has the sweep.
    In another sense, there is no way to do this in a computer. You must let each bird be a computer.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. malkiri Registered Senior Member

The most straightforward way to do this is something like:

For each bird Bi,
    For each bird Bj,
    Find distance from bird Bi to bird Bj and do the appropriate actions

May or may not be acceptable depending on how much processing you need to do in the inside. I'm sure there are ways to cut down on the unecessary or redundant work, but they may not be worth it.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. BigBlueHead Great Tealnoggin! Registered Senior Member

What is the context for these birds? Are they in a continuous environment or something more like a cell grid?

For the most part, you're going to have to handle each bird individually as Malkiri says, which means that every new bird you add is going to have to check itself against all of the previous ones (so the complexity will increase very quickly as the number of birds increase).

8. Xaque Registered Member