A new movie about AI

Discussion in 'Intelligence & Machines' started by kalystath, Jul 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kalystath Registered Member

AI and robotics have long been a subject of interest for the movie industry: Matrix, Terminator, A.I... But what you see in those movies is an oversimplified, conflictual vision of the future where, basically, machines are going to kill us. While this might prove to be a good base for an hollywood entertaining story, it is very likely far from what future will be. It is easy to see how more interesting and subtle it could be, just by reading news on kurzweilai.net, for example.

I have two jobs. First, I'm an AI research in an academic laboratory and I work on robotics. Second, I am a filmmaker. I currently work on a project to join those two activities and start working on an original movie about AI, the singularity and how the future will look like. But, unlike Terminator, this will not be a very expensive, special effect based movie, but rather a "hardcore science" or "realistic sci-fi" movie. What I am interested in is to show the social, cultural and human consequences of AI-based robotics on our society: will this be the end of work? If so, how are we going to live, where are we going to spend our time? How is politics going to be affected? Environment? Human relationships? Religions? Will we be more alone in a more and more de-humanized world? Or, on the contrary, will we develop new and powerful human associations? How will robots look like?... Actually, I could cary on with hundreds of questions. Almost any post on this forum could be a question.