I'd like to build a recommendation system

Discussion in 'Intelligence & Machines' started by marfle, Jul 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marfle Registered Member

Hi folks, I'm a newbie to these forums, acquisition brought me over, and it seems like a pretty swell place.

For several different projects I'm working on, I'm in need of a recommendation system similiar to Amazon's item-to-item similiarity mappings. I've been reading some technical articles on how to do it, and I have a printed out copy of Amazon's patent (6266649) that I'm trying to read. Basically how they do it, as I understand is that for every item in their catalog there is a row and a number of columns equaling the number of items in the system.

So for 1,000 objects in a set, you'd have 1,000 rows in a table, with 1,000 columns relating that item to every other item with a percentage noting how similiar it is.

First of all, I'm certainly no database genius, so at what point would the system be too big to work with, or would that not be an issue?

Secondly, I need a little guidance on how to develop the algorithm that would take a list of objects from individual users and map that to the percentage similiarity table.

I stumbled upon movielens.umn.edu, and it's pretty nifty, but gives no insight into how what they're doing is accomplished.

Any pointers or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, obviously I'm not looking for anyone to write any code for me, I just need some ideas.

Thanks alot,
    Andrew Triboletti

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. malkiri Registered Senior Member