I'm going camping...please help!

Discussion in 'Free Thoughts' started by Flores, Jul 10, 2003.

1. Flores Registered Senior Member

I'm going camping this weekend in Western Maryland in the mountains in an area called Deep Creek Lake State Park. This is a car camp, so I'm not bagpacking. I'm going with a girl friend and my daughter, so it's all girls. This is my first time camping since I was a little one in Egypt occasionaly camping with my parents on the mediteranean.

Anyways, I bought a nice Coleman dome tent, it's huge 15 x 15, and I managed to erect it in my back yard. I bought air matteresses, a camping stove, Lanterns, and other things that I thought I need. We have swim gear, bikes, good food, and games for the night.

Beside my fear of black bears coming into my tent at night, is there anything that I need to know about camping?

2. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. goofyfish Analog By Birth, Digital By Design Valued Senior Member

We boat out there all the time.
    Suntan lotion, bug spray, first aid kit.
    Secure your food and trash when not in use.
    Have a GREAT time. Beautiful place.

:m: Peace.

4. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Flores Registered Senior Member

Wow, we might be neighbors Goofy and not know it. Thanks for the info, and I forgot to mention that we have a viscious 8 week old cute beagle to protect us....

Do you know if the Lake is swimable at this time of the year, or is it too cold? How's the bottom? gravely, sandy, or clayey, I don't like to step on clay bottoms so in that case I 'll bring swim shoes.

6. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. goofyfish Analog By Birth, Digital By Design Valued Senior Member