Anybody want help improving your writing?

Discussion in 'Free Thoughts' started by Fraggle Rocker, Mar 17, 2003.

1. Fraggle Rocker Staff Member

Several of you have mentioned your disappointment with the writing skills you learned in school.

I've been helping people learn to write better for thirty years. Everything from the basics of spelling and punctuation, to the more complicated points of grammar and syntax, all the way to advanced topics like style and concision. Everybody from high school students to college graduates to foreigners struggling with a second language.

If anybody wants to post a question here, or a writing sample for review, I'll be glad to help.

As you can see from my own postings, I'm not a fuddy-duddy. I'm not going to take anybody to task for using slang or cute spelling tricks. (Unless I can't understand them. Then, of course, they are really bad writing habits!) You tell me what you want to learn and I'll help.

If you surprise me by posting a hundred messages the first day, I reserve the right to run away screaming.

From time to time, I will reorganize my individual responses and move them closer to the bottom of the thread. They will be re-edited and combined into a couple of postings with common themes, hopefully to make them more helpful to others with similar questions. I hope you all don't mind.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2003
  2. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. spuriousmonkey Banned Banned

how do you go about writing a book?

4. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Neville Registered Senior Member

I agree with fraggleRocker SpuriousMonkey. The best thing you could do is practice: maybe get a job for a magazine/newspaper. Dictionaries are very sueful. try to have one at hand. Not only can spellings and definitions be found but Punctuation is also listed i.e. colon, comma and even i.e. is listed. I didn't even know that i.e. was supposed to have another dot after the e until i checked.