The next space race?

Discussion in 'Science & Society' started by Mr.Roboto, Dec 20, 2002.

1. Mr.Roboto Registered Member

Hey, a newbie here. Just joined sciforums, and I like it a lot. For my first post let me run little theory by you. Please feel free to shoot it down in anyway

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

I'm sure you have all heard that China will have its first men in space (3 to be exact) sometime within the next two years. Beyond that, China will begin development of its docking system, eventually for a Chinese space station.

China's reasons for being the third county in space are speculated to be partly for national pride, as well as for military development in space (the Chinese space program is run jointly with the Chinese military).

Besides an obvious cold war like arms race in space that could develop between China and the United States, I could see another space race unfolding. As both superpowers struggle to show the world and each other which is more powerful and technically advanced, I imagine we could see a lot of "the first to's" in the not so distant future. Even if there is no arms race in space, China is likely continue its development in space in the efforts to show its "supremacy" as a super power. The United States would react to Chinas efforts in a defensive way, just as it found the Soviet Union's accomplishments in space to be threatening during the cold war.