New dietry Thoughts...

Discussion in 'Human Science' started by ULTRA, Feb 22, 2011.

1. ULTRA Realistically Surreal Registered Senior Member

I was wondering if a different approach to using our food might benefit us. As a biologist, I know our gut needs different conditions to digest different foods. For example, a fatty food is broken down using bile, which is alkali. Starchy food is broken down using amalyse in the saliva and acid in the gut. It then makes no sense to try and digest fatty food high in starch. The body is being asked to do two contradictory jobs.

Maybe when we have a meal, we restrict it to foods of similar nutritional components. Say, a breakfast high in carbs, a lunch high in fat and a supper high in protein. Doing this would, it seems, keep the whole digestive tract in perfect balance. I'm not sure it was designed for the modern diet of carbs, protein and fat all at the same time.

Any insight into this would be most welcome...

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Stoniphi obscurely fossiliferous Valued Senior Member

Well, the advice given on dinner is to keep it light so it doesn't just turn to excess sugar in your bloodstream or excess fat on your arse.

At my age (60) the many years of a low fat diet have rendered my gall bladder unable to process high fat meals, for lunch or otherwise. Those will give me a gall bladder attack for sure, and those really hurt (took me 2 tries to figure that one out). Other physical constraints and proactive health measures have given me a current diet high in fruits, vegetables and whole grains, low in saturated fats and red meat. I swing heavily towards the Mediterranean diet, replete with nuts and berries, olive oil and lots of green leafies.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!