View Full Version : Why would you use a company like this?


alexb123
06-09-06, 05:07 AM
I am trying to investigate a company who have dealing with the company on this link.

http://www.companyservices.waterlow.com/doc.asp?catid=2&docid=188

The company in the link seems to have link with fraud and they look like they might be in place to help you get around laws etc. I know they are involved in a dodgy deal with the Ghana Railway.

Could someone with some business knowledge shed some light on what this company is and how they operate?

Cheers

draqon
06-09-06, 05:10 AM
The site feels like a secret federal agency such as CIA has purposely set up this website to hook a bigger fish, bunch of idiots who think this service is possible.

alexb123
06-09-06, 05:21 AM
Looking in this a bit deeper. This company is appointed as a "Company Secretary (Inactive principal)" for the company I am investigating.

It would also appear that the company that Waterlow are Secretary too are a company that runs along side the main company. It has almost the same name as the main company but only has a few employees.

Dragon it can't be the CIA as the company is English.

alexb123
06-09-06, 05:48 AM
Also does anyone know the best way I can go about investigating a company in the UK?

kmguru
06-09-06, 05:14 PM
The company in the link looks like a service company that lets you help in the registration to form a company in UK. Similar companies do exist all over in USA. When I formed a company in the State of Nevada, I used a law company to act as the registered office. That is perfectly legal.

On the otherhand, if you are investigating registered companies, you can find out about them from their registration office with the government. Then use the name of the officers/owners to find out their background from various credit reporting and legal agencies that get their information from publicly available resources. For that you may have to pay a small fee.

You can find out a lot just from googling...about people and companies. Good companies have a good internet track record....shady companies do not.

alexb123
06-10-06, 12:09 AM
Thanks kmg will look a bit deeper

Theoryofrelativity
07-12-06, 11:56 AM
I am trying to investigate a company who have dealing with the company on this link.

http://www.companyservices.waterlow.com/doc.asp?catid=2&docid=188

The company in the link seems to have link with fraud and they look like they might be in place to help you get around laws etc. I know they are involved in a dodgy deal with the Ghana Railway.

Could someone with some business knowledge shed some light on what this company is and how they operate?

Cheers


There are loads of companies like this that make the process of setting up your own company easier and the fact they are company sec for company you are in investigating is not unusual. I am company sec for my company and ex is Director as law requires one of each, but when I resign this post he may have to use company like this to act as company sec. Doesn't look any diff to any other site that does this sort of service to me, so no reason to expect it's fraudulent. Though I only looked at home page. The company you are investigating is likely unrelated but used their services.

You can investigate Uk company in few ways, first all ltd company accts are public and if you look here
http://www.rba.co.uk/sources/finars.htm and try here

http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/

with company reg number there should be online facility to read the accounts for that business. What else did you want to know about the company?

more details re Uk company formation here
http://www.companieshouse.gov.uk/